Cape Malays…

and their Heritage

Cape Muslims Leadership Models

Posted by tahirfarrath on April 4, 2010


The Enculturation…handing down a legacy to the next generation and passing it on the generation to come.

1903 – South African Moslem Association in Cape Town

1904 – Dr. Abdullah Abdurahman: Cape City Councillor

1906 – Cape Muslim Population Census. The State census revealed that there were 22,575 Muslims in the Cape Colony. The census referred to Muslims by the erroneous appellation of “Mohammedans.”

1909 – South African Malay Association

1913 – Establishment of Rahmaniyyeh Institute in Cape Town

1917 – Talfallah and the Salt River Moslem Primary School

1920 – Simonstown Moslem Primary School

1923 – Founding of Cape Malay Association

1929 – Mohammadiyeh Moslem Primary School

1930 – Muir Street Moslem Primary School

1931 – Schotsch Kloof Moslem Primary School

1932 – Subsidies for Cape Muslims. The schools subsidised were:

* Rahmaniyyeh Institute [established 1913]

* Talfallah [established 1917]

* Salt River Moslem Primary School [established 1917]

* Simonstown Moslem Primary School [established 1923]

*Mohammadiyeh Moslem Primary School [established 1929]

*Muir Street Moslem Primary School [established 1930]

* Schotsch Kloof Moslem Primary School[established 1931]

1934 – Malay” Quarter. Almost the entire ‘Malay’ Quarter in Cape Town was proclaimed a slum area in terms of the Slums Act. At that time the ‘Malay’ Quarter was owned exclusively by the Muslims. Today, there are Muslim property owners in the Malay Quarter, but the Cape Town City Council is the chief landlord.

1942 – Schotsche Kloof. Between 1938 and 1942 Cape Town City Council built 198 flat-units at Schotsche Kloof, and for the occupation thereof, stipulated “a clause which stated that the tenant must be a “Malay Muslim

1942 – Hospital Welfare Society

1945 – Muslim Judicial Council

1952 – Bo-Kaap: residential area for `Malay’ Muslims

1956 – Die Heilige’ Qur’an: first Afrikaans translation of the Qur-aan by Imam Mohammed Baker

1957 – Cape Muslim Youth Movement

1958 – Claremont Muslim Youth Association

1960 – Hospital Welfare and Muslim Educational Movement

1960 – Publication of Muslim News

1961 – Call of Islam organisation

1966 – Boorhanol Recreational Movement

1967 – Muslim Assembly [Cape]

1968 – Majlisush Shura al-Islami

1969 – Cape Muslim Students Association

1969 – Imaam `Abdullah Haron was detained under Section 6 of Act 83 of 1967, referred to as the Terrorism Act. He was held incommunicado for 123 days without being given the opportunity of visits by his wife and children and “died” in the Cape Town prison on September 27, 1969.

1970 – Islamic Educational and Religious Trust. A group of concerned `Malay’ women met and resolved to devote their spare time in providing Islamic education for children and Muslim ladies residing in the `Coloured’ areas of Durban:

1971 – Muslim Board for Prison Welfare and State Institutions

1972 – Opposition of Cape Muslims to freeway through Tana Baru Cemetery

1972 – The Institute of Islamic Shari`ah Studies

1974 – Muslim Students’ Association of South Africa

1975 – Islamic Council of South Africa

1975 – Arabic at University of the Western Cape

1981 – Qibla Mass Movement

1981 – Publication of Ikhurani Eyingcwele: first Zulu translation of the Qur’an’ in Natal

1984 – Habibiya Islamic College

1989 – Islamic Studies at the University of Cape Town

1989 – Association of Muslim Schools

1990 – First National Muslim Conference

1990 – Islamic Political Party

1990 – Islamic College of Southern Africa


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: